Grant Recipients Honored at Luncheon & Additional Grant Awarded

Grant Recipients Honored at Luncheon & Additional Grant Awarded

STATESVILLE, NC – Carolina Farm Credit awarded over $150,000 to 25 local organizations and 12 college students during the 2021-2022 Corporate Mission Fund grant cycle. A luncheon was held in Statesville, NC, on May 11th, to honor these grant recipients and bring awareness to the efforts they have made to stimulate the local agricultural economy. Local officials and members from the recipients’ communities, as well as members of the Carolina Farm Credit Board of Directors attended the luncheon.

Prior to the luncheon, Carolina Farm Credit accepted video entries, from grant recipients, highlighting their projects. Names of the organizations that submitted video entries were placed in a drawing at the luncheon for an additional $1,000 grant.

Carolina Farm Credit is pleased to announce the winner of this special drawing was Solus Christus, Inc. This Yadkin County non-profit is a women’s rehabilitation facility with the goal of helping women find freedom from drugs, alcohol, and abuse. They plan on using the grant to further expand their gardens and purchase needed supplies for this growing season.

“We were very pleased with the turnout and positive feedback the luncheon received. Programs such as our Corporate Mission Fund allow us another way to give back to the local communities in which we work and live.", said Vance C. Dalton, Jr., Carolina Farm Credit CEO.

The 25 organizations and 12 college students that received funding in late 2021 can be found on the Carolina Farm Credit website.

Applications are now being accepted for 2023 Corporate Mission Fund grants. All applications are due by June 30, 2022.

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative that provides financing to full and part-time farmers, agricultural-related businesses, and for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 29 branch offices. Appraisal and Leasing services are also available.

For over 100 years, Farm Credit has been supporting rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. 

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 12,000 members with outstanding loans totaling more than $1.9 billion. The cooperative’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are Vickie N. Smitherman, Chair, East Bend; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Vice-Chair, Waynesville; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; Mark A. Bray, Lawsonville; Andrew W. Burleson, New London; David M. Coltrane, Pleasant Garden; Dan A. Hunsucker, Conover; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; J. Eric McPherson, Snow Camp; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Leslie G. Sparks, DVM, Sparta; L. Kim Starnes, Salisbury; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.