Director Election Results Announced

Director Election Results Announced

STATESVILLE, NC – Carolina Farm Credit completed the 2021 director election online and by mail on October 6th. The members elected to serve on the Board of Directors are Mark A. Bray (5 year term), Andrew W. Burleson (5 year term), and Clark M. Newlin (5 year term).

Mark A. Bray, of Stokes County, is a full time farmer whose operation includes beef and stocker cattle, poultry, and dairy.  In addition to farming, Mr. Bray serves on the Lawsonville Volunteer Fire Department Board and is a member of the North Carolina Cattlemen’s Association, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, Virginia Cattlemen’s Association, Stokes County Cattlemen’s Association, and the Patrick County Cattlemen’s Association. Mr. Bray is also a member of Peters Creek Baptist Church.                                                                                                                                  

Andrew W. Burleson, of Stanly County, is a full time farmer whose operation consists of cotton, corn, soybeans, wheat, and beef cattle. He serves as the Vice-Chair and serves on the Consumer Marketing Committee of Cotton Incorporated; He serves on the boards of the Southern Cotton Growers Association, National Cotton Council, and the North Carolina Cotton Producers Association. Mr. Burleson also serves as treasurer on theStanly County Farm Bureau Board and is a member of New Mt. Tabor United Methodist Church.

Clark M. Newlin, of Alamance County, is a full time farmer with a grain operation.  Mr. Newlin is a member of the Alamance County Cattlemen’s Association and North Carolina Farm Bureau. Mr. Newlin is also a member of Graham Presbyterian Church.

The following stockholders were elected to serve on the 2022 Nominating Committee:

Region 1 – Donald R. Smart, Haywood Co.
Russell T. Corry, Cleveland Co. (Alternate)

Region 2 – Vance C. Proctor, III, Catawba Co.
Shirley P. Hartley, Wilkes Co. (Alternate)

Region 3 – Derek L. Smith, Yadkin Co.
Barry S. Coe, Surry Co. (Alternate)

Region 4 – Charles R. Thomas, Davidson Co.
Gregory S. Hartsell, Rowan Co. (Alternate)

Region 5 – John E. Ashe, Jr., Rockingham Co.
Mary Beth Jackson, Moore Co. (Alternate)

Region 6 – Sam I. Kiser, Jr., Alamance Co.
Tina T. Gross, Lee Co. (Alternate)

In late October, the Board will hold an organizational meeting to appoint committee members and elect the Chair and Vice-Chair.

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 29 branch offices. Appraisal and Leasing services are also available.

For over 100 years, Farm Credit has been supporting rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. 

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 11,500 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $1.7 billion.  The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are David M. Coltrane, Chairman, Pleasant Garden; Vickie N. Smitherman, Vice-Chair, East Bend; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; Mark A. Bray, Lawsonville; Andrew W. Burleson, New London; Leslie G. Sparks, DVM, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord;  Eric McPherson, Snow Camp; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; L. Kim Starnes, Salisbury; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.