Chair and Vice-Chair Nominated

Chair and Vice-Chair Nominated

STATESVILLE, NC –In an organizational meeting on October 27, 2021, the Carolina Farm Credit Board of Directors elected Vickie N. Smitherman as Chair.  D. Kaleb Rathbone was elected to serve as Vice-Chair.

Vickie N. Smitherman has served as a director of Carolina Farm Credit since 2009. She also serves on the Carolina Farm Credit Board Compensation, Governance and Executive Committees. She resides in East Bend, located in Yadkin County, NC. She is a partner of Shady Grove Dairy, Inc., a dairy farm in which she also serves as Secretary/Treasurer. She received a B.S. in Business Administration from Gardner-Webb University.

D. Kaleb Rathbone has served as a director of Carolina Farm Credit since 2012. He also serves on the Carolina Farm Credit Board Audit, Compensation and Executive Committees. He resides in Waynesville, located in Haywood County, NC. He is a partner of Rathbone Farms, a beef cattle and hay operation. He is the Assistant Commissioner of Western NC for the NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and NCSU. He received a B.S. in Soil Science from the University of Tennessee and a M.S. in Agriculture & Natural Resources Management from the University of Tennessee, Martin.

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 29 branch offices. Appraisal and Leasing services are also available.

For over 100 years, Farm Credit has been supporting rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. 

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 11,500 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $1.7 billion.  The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are Vickie N. Smitherman, Chair, East Bend: D. Kaleb Rathbone, Vice-Chair, Waynesville; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; Mark A. Bray, Lawsonville; Andrew W. Burleson, New London; David M. Coltrane, Pleasant Garden; Leslie G. Sparks, DVM, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Eric McPherson, Snow Camp; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; L. Kim Starnes, Salisbury; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.