Chair and Vice-Chair Elected

STATESVILLE, NC – In an organizational meeting on October 28, 2020, the Carolina Farm Credit Board of Directors re-elected David M. Coltrane as Chair.  Vickie N. Smitherman was re-elected to serve as Vice-Chair.

David M. Coltrane has served as a director of Carolina Farm Credit since being elected in 2009. From 2017-2019, he served as Vice-Chair of the Carolina Farm Credit Board and Chair of the Carolina Farm Credit Board Compensation Committee. Mr. Coltrane resides in Pleasant Garden located in Randolph County, NC. He serves as Vice-President of Coltrane Dairy, LLC in which he and his family operate a dairy farm and raise replacement heifers. He also serves as Vice-President of Coltrane Properties, LLC, President of Grand Arbour Farm, and on the Southern States Cooperative Board. He is a graduate of North Carolina State University. 

Vickie N. Smitherman has served as a director of Carolina Farm Credit since being elected in 2009. She also serves as the Chair of the Carolina Farm Credit Board Governance Committee. She resides in East Bend, located in Yadkin County, NC.  She is a partner of Shady Grove Dairy, Inc., a dairy farm in which she also serves as Secretary/Treasurer. She is a graduate of Gardner-Webb University.

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and also provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 29 branch offices.  Other financial services available are credit life insurance, appraisal services, leasing programs and financial planning.

For over 100 years, Farm Credit has been supporting rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services.  

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 11,000 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $1.7 billion.  The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are David M. Coltrane, Chair, Pleasant Garden; Vickie N. Smitherman, Vice-Chair, East Bend; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; Mark A. Bray, Lawsonville; Dan A. Hunsucker, Conover; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Eric McPherson, Snow Camp; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; Leslie G. Sparks, DVM, Sparta; L. Kim Starnes, Salisbury; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.