Celebrating Distinguished Conservation Leadership

Wheel with flowers

Raleigh, NC - Conservation of our natural resources is a critical component of keeping our communities healthy and our agriculture and forestry economies strong. Most conservation work goes on in the backdrop of our lives with countless men and women providing resources, technical support, and leadership without anyone noticing. The Foundation for Soil and Water Conservation recognized an unsung conservation leader earlier this month.

Vance C. Dalton, Jr. is the Chief Executive Officer of Carolina Farm Credit, headquartered in Statesville. From his roots on an apple farm to formerly serving as a Cooperative Extension Agent, he shares his talent and dedication to soil and water conservation in many ways. He is an active supporter of conservation projects and resources that help keep our streams clean and innovate our agriculture operations. He has served on the Foundation’s Board for 6 years and in that time, he has grown the resources available to the Foundation to maintain it’s 20-year history in improving the environment, educating citizens, and building conservation capacity.

Jimmy Gentry, Foundation President and NC State Grange President, presented Vance presented with the Foundation’s President’s Award at the NC soil and water conservation districts meeting on January 8 in Durham. We rarely take time to stop and thank those that promote good environmental stewardship in the backdrops of our state. Congratulations Vance for your great achievements in conservation!

If you would like to learn more about the Foundation’s efforts that cross the landscape of the old north state, visit www.ncsoilwater.org.

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and also provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 32 branch offices.  Other financial services available are credit life insurance, appraisal services, leasing programs and financial planning.

For 100 years Farm Credit has been supporting rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. 

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 10,000 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $1.5 billion.  The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Concord, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Waynesville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are W. Rex Bell, Chairman, Statesville, David M. Coltrane, Vice-Chairman, Pleasant Garden; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; Mark A. Bray, Lawsonville; Susie J. Gambill, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord;  Eric McPherson, Snow Camp; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; Lewis E. Smith, Lincolnton; Vickie N. Smitherman, East Bend; L. Kim Starnes, Salisbury; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.