AgYouth Leadership Award Recipients Announced

Cows grazing in a field

STATESVILLE, NC – The Farm Credit Associations of NC are proud to announce the recipients of the second AgYouth Leadership Program awards.  These awards were set up to honor students who excel in the classroom and community as leaders in their FFA chapters and 4-H clubs. 

The recipients are:

Chloe Allen, Garner, NC

Megan Amend, Wake Forest, NC

Alex Arrowood, Lexington, NC

Olivia Barnes, Elizabethtown, NC

Jensen Barwick, Seven Springs, NC

Alyson Biddix, Marion, NC

Steven Bradley, Rocky Mount, NC

Chandler Bryant, Bailey, NC

Sara Carone, Wallace, NC

Rylie Daniels, Newland, NC

Brook Davis, Autryville, NC

Brianna Diaz, West End, NC

Reily Dumproff, Southport, NC

Hannah Ellis, Old Fort, NC

Anna Faulk, Cerro Gordo, NC

Luke Fuller, Hertford, NC

Peyton Gardner, Princeton, NC

Alicia Greer, Lexington, NC

Daniel Haggitt, Eure, NC

Abigail Hamilton, Jackson Springs, NC

Makenzie Harden, Pleasant Garden, NC

Mason Hardison, Williamston, NC

Emily Holland, Olin, NC

Kaitlyn Howard, Richlands, NC

Riley Jarman, Jacksonville, NC

Lance Johnson, Statesville, NC

Miria Jones, Newland, NC

Lucille Ketterer, Louisburg, NC

Emily Kornegay, Goldsboro, NC

Danielle Kuykendall, Mills River, NC.

Callie Lewis, Bladenboro, NC

Taylor Low, Burlington, NC

Kaylee Lowery, Elizabeth City, NC

Jacob Hinson, Princeton, NC

Benjamin Potter, Grantsboro, NC

Sydney Schmalzried, Fuquay-Varina, NC

Hannah Mayo, Smithfield, NC

Milosh McAdoo, Efland, NC

Harrison McLamb, Roseboro, NC

Lisandra Mejia, Zionville, NC

Regan Mitchem, Vale, NC

Christopher Shatley, Fayetteville, NC

Lauren Shell, China Grove, NC

Avery Shelton, Raleigh, NC

Dalton Sides, Rougemont, NC

Meredith Simpson, New London, NC.

Noah Summerlin, Mt. Olive, NC

Zannah Tyndall, Clinton, NC

Brittany Vadiford, Gaston, NC

Carley Williams, Chocowinity, NC

Abigail Zentmeyer, Kannapolis, NC

The AgYouth Leadership Program is open to any senior student in good standing with his/her high school and FFA or 4-H program.  The goals of the AgYouth Leadership Program are:

  • To raise the profile of outstanding junior and senior FFA and 4-H leaders by recognizing their accomplishments.
  • To recognize these winners in various association publications, social media, and Farm Credit Association of NC websites.
  • To create scholarship opportunities that will help graduating seniors.

NC FFA advisors and 4-H leaders selected students to submit applications for the AgYouth Leadership Program.  The AgYouth Leadership Committee reviewed and selected recipients.  Award winners will be invited to the local Farm Credit branch office to receive a certificate and to have their photograph taken for use in various Farm Credit publications.  All winners will be eligible for scholarships awarded in May.

In all, over 110 applications were received for this program.

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and also provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 32 branch offices.  Other financial services available are credit life insurance, appraisal services, leasing programs and financial planning.

For 100 years Farm Credit has been supporting rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. 

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 10,000 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $1.5 billion.  The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Boone, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Concord, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Waynesville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are W. Rex Bell, Chairman, Statesville, David M. Coltrane, Vice-Chairman, Pleasant Garden; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; Mark A. Bray, Lawsonville; Susie J. Gambill, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord;  Eric McPherson, Snow Camp; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; Lewis E. Smith, Lincolnton; Vickie N. Smitherman, East Bend; L. Kim Starnes, Salisbury; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.